Collection · Car · 12 models
Best of Car: every dash cam and tyre inflator we recommend, by situation
Every pick from our two Car shortlists, six dash cams from Nextbase, Garmin, Viofo and 70mai and six tyre inflators from Ring, Bosch and Michelin, grouped by the driver and the job each suits, with the maker's key figure and the Amazon link for each.



Every model below comes from a Car shortlist on this site, where it is compared with its rivals on the makers’ own figures. Here each one appears once, under the situation it suits best, with the figure that decided it and the Amazon link.
Recording: front and rear evidence at night
front and rear evidence at night
Viofo A229 Plus 2CH

- Front resolution
- 1440p
- Recording
- 1440p at 60 fps front; 1440p at 30 fps rear, both HDR
- Field of view
- 140° front (f/1.8); 160° rear
- Screen
- 2.4 in
- GPS
- Yes
- Parking mode
- Three modes incl. buffered (hardwire kit)
Check price on Amazon
1440p at 60 fps front and 1440p rear on Sony STARVIS 2, GPS, 5 GHz Wi-Fi, buffered parking.
Strengths
- 1440p HDR rear camera, the best rear here
- 512 GB cards and 5 GHz Wi-Fi
- Buffered parking mode with the hardwire kit
Limitations
- Rear camera needs a cable run to the back window
- No Emergency SOS or what3words
- Viofo's UK support is through sellers
Good for
- someone who wants readable plates behind as well as in front
Look elsewhere if
- a driver who wants a touchscreen and a brand on the high street
Recording: the best front picture and the safety features
best front picture, safety features
Nextbase 622GW

- Front resolution
- 4K
- Recording
- 4K at 30 fps; 1440p at 60; 1080p at 120
- Field of view
- 140°, f/1.3
- Screen
- 3 in IPS touchscreen
- GPS
- 10 Hz, with what3words
- Parking mode
- Intelligent Parking Mode (hardwire kit for continuous)
Check price on Amazon
4K at 30 or 1080p at 120, stabilised, polariser, what3words, Emergency SOS.
Strengths
- 4K, stabilisation and a polariser: the best footage here
- what3words and Emergency SOS, which matter on a rural A-road
- Touchscreen and rear module that clicks in without a cable to the back
Limitations
- The dearest here before you add the rear camera
- Stabilised mode drops to 2K
- 128 GB card limit by retailers
Good for
- a driver who wants the best evidence and will pay for it
Look elsewhere if
- a budget or a second car
Recording: a family car, both ends, GPS
family car, both ends, GPS
Nextbase 322GW with Rear Window Camera

- Front resolution
- 1080p†
- Recording
- 1080p at 60 fps†
- Field of view
- 140°
- Screen
- 2.5 in IPS touchscreen
- GPS
- 10 Hz
- Parking mode
- Intelligent Parking Mode
Check price on Amazon
1080p front, 720p rear on a 6 m cable, touchscreen, 10 Hz GPS.
Strengths
- Front and rear in one purchase
- GPS and Emergency SOS at a mid price
- Touchscreen
Limitations
- Rear is 720p
- Frame-rate figure is inconsistent on Nextbase's pages
- No stabilisation or built-in polariser
Good for
- a family car that wants front and rear cover without the 622GW price
Look elsewhere if
- someone who wants to read plates behind at night
Recording: 4K and a rear camera on a budget
4K and rear on a budget
70mai A810 Lite (front and rear)

- Front resolution
- 4K
- Recording
- 4K at 30 fps front (24/25 fps with rear); 1080p rear
- Field of view
- 140° front (f/1.55); 130° rear
- Screen
- 3.18 in
- GPS
- Yes, built in
- Parking mode
- Time-lapse and collision detection (hardwire kit separate)
Check price on Amazon
4K front (24/25 fps with the rear on), 1080p rear, GPS, 3-inch screen, optional 4G.
Strengths
- 4K front plus a rear camera in the box
- GPS, a big screen and Wi-Fi 6
- Optional 4G for remote access
Limitations
- Dual recording cuts the front to 24/25 fps
- Hardwire kit for parking is separate
- A budget sensor compared with the Viofo's STARVIS 2
Good for
- someone who wants 4K and rear cover for the price of a 1080p Nextbase bundle
Look elsewhere if
- a driver who wants the smoothest high-frame-rate footage
Recording: front only, the best per pound
front only, best per pound
Viofo A119 Mini 2

- Front resolution
- 1440p
- Recording
- 1440p at 60 fps, HDR (2.7K at 30)
- Field of view
- 140°, f/1.6
- Screen
- 1.5 in
- GPS
- Yes, built in
- Parking mode
- With optional HK4 hardwire kit
Check price on Amazon
1440p at 60 fps, STARVIS 2, GPS, 5 GHz Wi-Fi, supercapacitor.
Strengths
- 1440p at 60 fps and HDR for the price of 1080p cameras
- GPS and 5 GHz Wi-Fi built in
- Supercapacitor for a hot windscreen
Limitations
- 1.5-inch screen is for menus, not review
- Parking mode needs the hardwire kit
- No rear option
Good for
- a front-only camera for someone who cares about night footage
Look elsewhere if
- a driver who wants rear cover or a touchscreen
Recording: small with GPS and a screen
small with GPS and a screen
Garmin Dash Cam X110

- Front resolution
- 1080p
- Recording
- 1080p at 30 fps, HDR
- Field of view
- 140°
- Screen
- 2.4 in LCD
- GPS
- Yes, GPS and Galileo
- Parking mode
- Parking Guard with constant power cable, Wi-Fi and Vault subscription
Check price on Amazon
1080p HDR, GPS and Galileo, 2.4-inch screen, driver alerts, 62 g.
Strengths
- GPS on a camera this small
- Screen for reviewing without a phone
- Driver alerts, which the Nextbases at this price lack
Limitations
- 1080p only; no 1440p or 4K option
- Parking Guard needs the Vault subscription
- Battery is a 20-minute backup, not a feature
Good for
- a driver who wants GPS evidence in a camera that does not shout
Look elsewhere if
- anyone who wants a rear camera in the box
Inflating: fast, in the boot
fast, in the boot
Ring UltraInflate 30 (RTI130)

- Max pressure
- 100 psi
- Power
- 12 V socket, 180 W, 3.5 m cable
- Air hose
- 70 cm
- Ring's inflation figure
- 13 in tyre to 35 psi in about 2 min
- Auto-stop
- Yes, Easyset dial and progress meter
- Light
- LED
Check price on Amazon
180 W, a 13-inch tyre to 35 psi in about 2 minutes, 3.5 m cable, auto-stop.
Strengths
- Two-minute claim on a 13-inch tyre, by Ring
- 3.5 m cable reaches every wheel
- Ring publishes a specification sheet
Limitations
- Needs the car's 12 V socket; nothing cordless
- Listing warranty is one year, which needs checking against Ring
Good for
- a boot-kept inflator for monthly checks and a slow puncture
Look elsewhere if
- bicycles in the shed, where a cordless pump wins
Inflating: cordless with a fallback
cordless, with a fallback
Ring TyreInflate GO 4 (RTC4000)

- Max pressure
- 120 psi
- Power
- Internal Li-ion, USB-C charging; 12 V cable as backup
- Air hose
- 60 cm
- Ring's inflation figure
- 15 in tyre from flat in under 6 min
- Auto-stop
- Yes, with memory for saved pressures
- Light
- LED torch
Check price on Amazon
120 psi, USB-C charging, 12 V cable in the box, memory for each car.
Strengths
- Works away from the car: bikes, a trailer, the other car
- 12 V cable in the box if the battery is flat
- Memory for saved pressures
Limitations
- Battery capacity and tyres per charge not published
- Slower than the plug-in UltraInflate 30
Good for
- a household with bikes and two cars
Look elsewhere if
- someone who only ever tops up one car in the drive
Inflating: a compact plug-in
compact plug-in
Ring UltraInflate 20 (RTI120)

- Max pressure
- 100 psi
- Power
- 12 V socket, 180 W, 3 m wind-up cable
- Air hose
- 60 cm
- Ring's inflation figure
- 13 in tyre to 35 psi in about 3.5 min
- Auto-stop
- Yes, with progress meter
- Weight
- 1.1 kg
Check price on Amazon
100 psi, auto-stop, 3.5 minutes on Ring’s test, wind-up 3 m cable.
Strengths
- Auto-stop and a digital display at a lower price
- Wind-up cable keeps the boot tidy
- Ring's spec sheet behind the figures
Limitations
- A minute and a half slower than the 30 on Ring's own figure
- 3 m cable may not reach the far rear wheel of an estate
Good for
- a small car and occasional top-ups
Look elsewhere if
- a van or a trailer
Inflating: Bosch 18 V batteries already
Bosch 18 V batteries already
Bosch UniversalPump 18V (bare tool)

- Max pressure
- 150 psi
- Power
- 18 V Power for All battery, not included
- Air flow
- 30 l/min
- Air hose
- 67 cm
- Auto-stop
- Not stated by Bosch
- Gauge
- Illuminated manometer
Check price on Amazon
30 l/min to 10.3 bar on any Power for All battery; sold bare.
Strengths
- 30 l/min: a car tyre from flat in minutes
- Runs on the same battery as a Bosch mower or drill
- Adapters stored on board
Limitations
- No battery or charger in the box
- Auto-stop not stated; you watch the gauge
- 1.2 kg before the battery
Good for
- a garage with Power for All batteries already
Look elsewhere if
- anyone buying their first inflator with no battery system
Inflating: a cyclist’s pocket pump
a cyclist's pocket pump
Bosch EasyPump

- Max pressure
- 150 psi
- Power
- Built-in 3.6 V 3.0 Ah battery, USB charging
- Air flow
- 10 l/min
- Air hose
- 20 cm†
- Auto-stop
- Yes, PSI, bar or kPa
- Light
- LED and lit display
Check price on Amazon
430 g, 150 psi, auto-stop, Presta adapter, USB charging.
Strengths
- 430 g, charges from a phone charger
- 150 psi with auto-stop: bikes, balls and car top-ups
- Bosch publishes every figure
Limitations
- 10 l/min: slow on a car tyre and not for a flat one
- 20 cm hose
Good for
- a cyclist who also checks the car's tyres
Look elsewhere if
- a van or a flat tyre at the roadside
Inflating: a glovebox emergency compressor
glovebox emergency
Michelin 009518 Mini Digital Compressor

- Max pressure
- 50 psi†
- Power
- 12 V socket, 72 W†
- Air flow
- 7 l/min†
- Air hose
- 10 cm†
- Inflation figure
- A standard car tyre in about 4 min†
- Auto-stop
- Not stated
Check price on Amazon
360 g, 3.5 bar, digital gauge, 10 cm hose.
Strengths
- Fits a glovebox
- Digital gauge
- Four minutes claimed for a car tyre
Limitations
- No maker page; the listing gives two maximum pressures
- 10 cm hose means kneeling at every valve
- No auto-stop stated
Good for
- an emergency compressor that is always in the car
Look elsewhere if
- bikes at 100 psi or anyone who wants to set a target and walk away
Sources
Facts checked 23 October 2026
- Viofo — A229 Plus 2CH product page — Manufacturer documentation, checked 23 October 2026
- Amazon listing (VIOFO) — Retailer listing, checked 23 October 2026
- Nextbase — 622GW product page — Manufacturer documentation, checked 23 October 2026
- Amazon listing (Nextbase) — Retailer listing, checked 23 October 2026
- Nextbase — 322GW product page — Manufacturer documentation, checked 23 October 2026
- Amazon listing (Nextbase) — Retailer listing, checked 23 October 2026
- 70mai — Dash Cam 4K A810 Lite product page — Manufacturer documentation, checked 23 October 2026
- Amazon listing (70mai) — Retailer listing, checked 23 October 2026
- Viofo — A119 Mini 2 product page — Manufacturer documentation, checked 23 October 2026
- Amazon listing (VIOFO) — Retailer listing, checked 23 October 2026
- Garmin — Dash Cam X110 product page and owner's manual specifications — Manufacturer documentation, checked 23 October 2026
- Amazon listing (Garmin) — Retailer listing, checked 23 October 2026
- Ring Automotive — UltraInflate 30 product page and specification sheet — Manufacturer documentation, checked 23 October 2026
- Amazon listing (RING) — Retailer listing, checked 23 October 2026
- Ring Automotive — TyreInflate GO 4 (RTC4000) product page — Manufacturer documentation, checked 23 October 2026
- Amazon listing (RING) — Retailer listing, checked 23 October 2026
- Ring Automotive — UltraInflate 20 product page and specification sheet — Manufacturer documentation, checked 23 October 2026
- Amazon listing (RING) — Retailer listing, checked 23 October 2026
- Bosch DIY UK — UniversalPump 18V product page and press release — Manufacturer documentation, checked 23 October 2026
- Amazon listing (Bosch) — Retailer listing, checked 23 October 2026
- Bosch DIY UK — EasyPump product page — Manufacturer documentation, checked 23 October 2026
- Amazon listing (Bosch) — Retailer listing, checked 23 October 2026
- Amazon listing (MICHELIN) — Retailer listing, checked 23 October 2026
What should every dash cam buyer also budget for?
A hardwire kit, if the car lives on a street: without it no camera here records with the ignition off. And a decent microSD card of the class the maker specifies, because the card is the part that fails.
Which inflator figures are the makers' own?
Ring and Bosch publish specification sheets and every Ring and Bosch figure here is from them. The Michelin has no maker page and its listing gives two maximum pressures; both are recorded and the fact is flagged.