Shortlist · Pets · 6 models

Best pet water fountains: six fountains from 2 to 7.5 litres compared on capacity, filter, power and material

A fountain gets a cat to drink, which is most of the point, and then asks you to clean it weekly and buy filters monthly. What decides which one is capacity against the animals drinking, the filter and how often the maker says to change it, whether the pump runs from the mains, USB or a battery, and the bowl's material. Six fountains from Catit, Cat Mate and PetSafe, on the makers' figures.

By The City Bits deskUpdated 23 October 2026Facts checked 23 October 2026

Catit Flower Fountain in green and white: a round fountain with a flower-shaped top and water flowing from its petalsCatit PIXI fountain in pink: a cat-shaped fountain with ears, a water-level window and a glowing noseCat Mate three-level pet fountain in white with water cascading down a ramp between three bowls
Pictured: Catit Flower Fountain (3 l), Catit PIXI Fountain (2.5 l), Cat Mate Three-Level Fountain (2 l).

Quick answer

The six at a glance

At a glance
ModelCapacityFilterPowerMaterialWhere to buy
Catit Flower Fountain (3 l)for a first fountain, one cat3 lTriple-action, change every 30 daysMains pump, 12 VAPlasticView listing
Catit PIXI Fountain (2.5 l)for USB power and a level you can see2.5 lTriple-actionUSB, 5 V 1 A adapter, under 1 WPlasticView listing
Cat Mate Three-Level Fountain (2 l)for a cat that drinks from the tap2 lPolymer-carbon, change monthly12 V low-voltage pump, 3 m leadPlastic, BPA-freeView listing
PetSafe Drinkwell Sedona (3 l)for a flat-faced cat and a kitchen it will be seen in3 lCarbon (2–4 weeks) and foam (4–6 weeks)Mains, submersible pumpCeramic tower, copolyester bowlView listing
PetSafe Drinkwell 7.5 l Fountainfor several cats or a dog7.5 lFoam and carbonMains pump with adaptorPlasticView listing
Cat Mate Stainless Steel Battery Fountain (2 l)for a spot with no socket2 l†Multi-stage†Rechargeable battery, USB cable included†Stainless steel bowlView listing

Scroll sideways to see every column

† Figure from a retailer listing or otherwise awaiting confirmation from the manufacturer; other figures come from manufacturer manuals and leaflets.

Figures are from Catit, Closer Pets (Cat Mate) and PetSafe except the Cat Mate cordless fountain, whose maker page was not read; its cells carry the listing and are flagged. Catit’s own pages give two sets of dimensions and weights for the PIXI, which is noted on the product.

What a fountain is, and what you are signing up for

Every fountain here is a bowl, a small submersible pump, and a filter the water passes through on its way round. The pump needs power, by mains, USB or a battery; the filter needs changing on the maker’s schedule; and the bowl and pump need rinsing weekly, because biofilm forms in a week with or without a filter. A fountain that comes apart in three pieces gets cleaned; one with crevices gets abandoned by March.

So read: capacity against the animals drinking; the filter and its interval; the power source and where the cable or charger will go; the material; and how the thing comes apart.

Catit Flower Fountain, for a first fountain for one cat

for a first fountain, one cat

Catit Flower Fountain (3 l)

Catit Flower Fountain in green and white: a round fountain with a flower-shaped top and water flowing from its petals
Capacity
3 l
Filter
Triple-action, change every 30 days
Power
Mains pump, 12 VA
Material
Plastic
See on Amazon

Check price on Amazon

The fountain most UK cats have drunk from: 3 litres, a flower-shaped top that gives three different flows depending on how the petal piece is fitted, a triple-action filter (cotton, carbon and ion-exchange resin) that Catit says to change every 30 days, and a small mains pump. Light, cheap, two-year warranty by the listing.

The bowl is plastic, and the pump’s cable runs to a plug.

For a first fountain and one cat, it is the standard choice.

Strengths

  • Three litres, a week for one cat
  • Three flow settings
  • Catit publishes the filter schedule

Limitations

  • Plastic bowl, which some cats and some owners dislike
  • Mains cable from the pump

Good for

  • a first fountain for a cat that ignores a bowl

Look elsewhere if

  • a house that wants stainless or ceramic

Catit PIXI Fountain, for USB power and a level you can see

for USB power and a level you can see

Catit PIXI Fountain (2.5 l)

Catit PIXI fountain in pink: a cat-shaped fountain with ears, a water-level window and a glowing nose
Capacity
2.5 l
Filter
Triple-action
Power
USB, 5 V 1 A adapter, under 1 W
Material
Plastic
See on Amazon

Check price on Amazon

Catit’s cat-shaped fountain: 2.5 litres, a pump that runs from a 5 V USB adapter at under a watt, a window in the front showing the water level and a nose that flashes red when it is low, three drinking spots in a shallow whisker-friendly bowl, and the same triple-action filter. The pump detaches for cleaning.

Half a litre less than the Flower, and Catit quotes two different sizes and weights for it on its own pages.

For an owner who wants to see the level from across the room, and USB power that a power bank can run in a cut, it is the one.

Strengths

  • USB power, so it can run from a power bank in a cut
  • Level window and low-water light
  • Detachable pump for cleaning

Limitations

  • Half a litre less than the Flower
  • Catit's own dimensions and weights disagree

Good for

  • a cat that likes to see the water and an owner who likes to see the level

Look elsewhere if

  • two cats

Cat Mate Three-Level Fountain, for a cat that drinks from the tap

for a cat that drinks from the tap

Cat Mate Three-Level Fountain (2 l)

Cat Mate three-level pet fountain in white with water cascading down a ramp between three bowls
Capacity
2 l
Filter
Polymer-carbon, change monthly
Power
12 V low-voltage pump, 3 m lead
Material
Plastic, BPA-free
See on Amazon

Check price on Amazon

A cascade: the pump lifts 2 litres to a top bowl and the water runs down a ramp through three levels, so a kitten, a cat and a small dog each find their height and a tap-drinker finds a stream. The polymer-carbon filter and the pump are cleaned monthly, the bowls go in the dishwasher, and the pump is low-voltage with a 3 m lead to a transformer at the plug. Three-year guarantee on the fountain, twelve months on the pump.

Two litres, and a ramp has more surfaces to scrub than a bowl.

For a cat that wants running water rather than a pool, it is the one.

Strengths

  • Three heights suit a kitten, a cat and a small dog
  • 3 m lead with the transformer at the plug
  • Three-year guarantee

Limitations

  • Two litres
  • The ramp has more surfaces to clean than a bowl

Good for

  • a cat that drinks from the tap

Look elsewhere if

  • a house that wants a single bowl to wipe

PetSafe Drinkwell Sedona, for a flat-faced cat and a kitchen on show

for a flat-faced cat and a kitchen it will be seen in

PetSafe Drinkwell Sedona (3 l)

PetSafe Drinkwell Sedona fountain in green: a ceramic tower pouring water into a wide clear bowl
Capacity
3 l
Filter
Carbon (2–4 weeks) and foam (4–6 weeks)
Power
Mains, submersible pump
Material
Ceramic tower, copolyester bowl
See on Amazon

Check price on Amazon

A ceramic tower pours a stream into a wide, clear, impact-resistant bowl: 3 litres, PetSafe’s carbon filter (every two to four weeks) and foam filter (every four to six), a submersible pump, and parts that go on the top shelf of the dishwasher. The wide bowl suits a Persian or a small dog.

The bowl is copolyester plastic, not ceramic; there are two filters to keep in stock; and PetSafe publishes no dimensions.

For a flat-faced cat, or a kitchen where the fountain will be looked at, it is the one.

Strengths

  • Ceramic tower that does not stain or scratch
  • Wide bowl for flat faces
  • Filter schedule published

Limitations

  • The bowl is plastic, not ceramic
  • Two filter types to keep buying
  • Dimensions not published

Good for

  • a Persian or a small dog, and a kitchen where it will be seen

Look elsewhere if

  • anyone who wants an all-ceramic fountain

PetSafe Drinkwell 7.5 l, for several cats or a dog

for several cats or a dog

PetSafe Drinkwell 7.5 l Fountain

PetSafe Drinkwell 7.5 litre pet fountain in grey: a long open bowl with a stream falling from a raised spout
Capacity
7.5 l
Filter
Foam and carbon
Power
Mains pump with adaptor
Material
Plastic
See on Amazon

Check price on Amazon

The big one: 7.5 litres in a long open bowl, a free-falling stream whose strength you set by knob from near-silent to a pour, foam and carbon filters, top-rack dishwasher safe, 40 centimetres long and 2.2 kg by the listing, two-year warranty.

It needs 40 centimetres of floor and is plastic throughout.

For two or three cats, or a medium dog, it is the only one here with enough water.

Strengths

  • Two and a half times the water of the 3-litre fountains
  • Adjustable flow, including near-silent
  • Dishwasher safe

Limitations

  • Big: 40 cm long
  • Plastic throughout

Good for

  • two or three cats, or a medium dog

Look elsewhere if

  • one cat in a small kitchen

Cat Mate Stainless Steel Battery Fountain, for a spot with no socket

for a spot with no socket

Cat Mate Stainless Steel Battery Fountain (2 l)

Cat Mate stainless steel cordless cat fountain, a brushed-steel bowl on a compact base
Capacity
2 l†
Filter
Multi-stage†
Power
Rechargeable battery, USB cable included†
Material
Stainless steel bowl
See on Amazon

Check price on Amazon

Cordless: a stainless bowl on a rechargeable base, charged by the USB cable in the box, 2 litres by the listing, multi-stage filtration, three-year guarantee. Closer Pets’ page for this model was not read, and the listing’s component list contradicts its own title, so every fact is flagged.

Battery run time is not stated anywhere we could check.

For a landing or hallway with no socket, where a cable cannot go, it is the option; buy it knowing the figures are the listing’s.

Strengths

  • No cable: put it where the cat drinks
  • Stainless bowl, which resists the slime plastic grows

Limitations

  • Listing-only figures, and an inconsistent listing
  • Battery run time not stated

Good for

  • a hallway or landing with no socket

Look elsewhere if

  • anyone who wants the maker's figures

How to choose

  1. Animals. One cat: 2 to 3 litres, any of the first four. Several, or a dog: PetSafe 7.5 l.
  2. Power. Mains: Catit Flower, Sedona, PetSafe 7.5 l. Low-voltage lead: Cat Mate three-level. USB: Catit PIXI. Battery: Cat Mate stainless.
  3. Material. Stainless bowl: Cat Mate cordless. Ceramic tower: Sedona. Plastic: the rest.
  4. Filter schedule published. Catit, Closer Pets, PetSafe: yes.
  5. Cleaning. Fewest parts: Catit PIXI, PetSafe 7.5 l. Most: Cat Mate three-level.

Who should buy a bigger bowl instead

A cat that already drinks from a bowl does not need moving water, and a wide ceramic bowl refilled daily is cleaner than a fountain cleaned weekly. Fountains are for cats that will not drink still water, and for owners who will keep up with the cleaning.

Which one, by situation

  • One cat, first fountain: Catit Flower Fountain.
  • See the level, USB power: Catit PIXI Fountain.
  • Tap drinker: Cat Mate Three-Level Fountain.
  • Flat face, on show: PetSafe Drinkwell Sedona.
  • Several pets: PetSafe Drinkwell 7.5 l.
  • No socket: Cat Mate Stainless Steel Battery Fountain.

Sources

Facts checked 23 October 2026

  1. Catit — Flower Fountain product page — Manufacturer documentation, checked 23 October 2026
  2. Amazon listing (Catit) — Retailer listing, checked 23 October 2026
  3. Catit — PIXI Drinking Fountain product page — Manufacturer documentation, checked 23 October 2026
  4. Amazon listing (Catit) — Retailer listing, checked 23 October 2026
  5. Closer Pets (Cat Mate) — Three-level 2-litre pet fountain product page — Manufacturer documentation, checked 23 October 2026
  6. Amazon listing (Cat Mate) — Retailer listing, checked 23 October 2026
  7. PetSafe — Drinkwell Sedona support page and launch press release — Manufacturer documentation, checked 23 October 2026
  8. Amazon listing (PetSafe) — Retailer listing, checked 23 October 2026
  9. PetSafe UK — Drinkwell 7.5 litre Pet Fountain product page — Manufacturer documentation, checked 23 October 2026
  10. Amazon listing (PetSafe) — Retailer listing, checked 23 October 2026
  11. Amazon listing (Cat Mate) — Retailer listing, checked 23 October 2026
Do fountains really make cats drink more?

Most cats prefer moving water, and a fountain puts moving water where the bowl was. Vets suggest it for cats on dry food and for urinary problems. It is not a cure for anything; it is a bowl the cat uses more. If yours already drinks well from a bowl, a fountain is a cleaning job you do not need.

How often do I clean it and change the filter?

Catit and Closer Pets say change the filter monthly; PetSafe says carbon every two to four weeks and foam every four to six. Every maker says rinse the bowl and pump weekly, because slime forms in a week regardless of filters. Pick the fountain whose parts come apart easily, because you will do this fifty times a year.

Plastic, ceramic or stainless?

Plastic is light, cheap and dishwasher safe, and grows slime fastest; some cats get chin acne from it. Stainless resists both. Ceramic looks best and chips. Of the six here, four are plastic, the Sedona has a ceramic tower over a plastic bowl, and the Cat Mate cordless has a stainless bowl.

How big?

A cat drinks roughly 200 to 250 ml a day, so 2 to 3 litres is a week for one cat minus evaporation, which is why the one-cat fountains are that size. Two or three cats, or a dog, want the 7.5 litre PetSafe.

Shortlist · Pets

Best automatic pet feeders: six feeders from a two-bowl timer to a microchip lock, by what each actually does

Automatic feeder is one name for four machines: a lidded bowl on a timer for wet food, a tray that turns to the next meal, a hopper that drops measured kibble, and a lid that opens only for the right cat. Which you need depends on the food, how long you are away and how many animals eat. Six feeders from Catit, Cat Mate, PetSafe, Petlibro and Sure Petcare, on the makers' figures.

Updated 23 October 2026

Guide · Pets

How to choose an automatic pet feeder: food type, meals and portions, capacity, power and the multi-pet problem

Automatic feeders are sold on a litre figure and an app, and most buyers find out at home that the litres are kibble only, the app needs the right Wi-Fi band, and the other cat eats everything. This guide explains the four kinds of feeder, how to read meals, portions and capacity, what powers them when the mains fails, and what to do when one pet steals another's food.

Updated 23 October 2026